← Back

Recording with Roy Orbison in the 80’s

Hey everyone: I have been asked about the Roy Orbison album we recorded in 1985. We went in with Roy and re-recorded all of his hits, for his personal label. He wanted to own his masters. Here is the page describing it. We did it when he was beginning his comeback, before The Traveling Wilbury’s, and Black and White Night. It was an incredible experience to record with him. He did his vocals live with us. It was awesome! Paul



1. Only The Lonely
2. Leah
3. In Dreams
4. Uptown
5. It’s Over
6. Crying
7. Dream Baby
8. Blue Angel
9. Working For The Man
10. Candy Man
11. Running Scared
12. Falling
13. I’m Hurtin’
14. Claudette
15. Oh, Pretty Woman
16. Mean Woman Blues
17. Ooby Dooby
18. Lana
19. Blue Bayou

With 2 LPs worth of music on 1 CD, IN DREAMS is a greatest-hits collection, but not of the original recordings. All of these tracks were re-recorded in 1985. The version of “In Dreams” included here was recorded in 1987 by Orbison, T-Bone Burnett and David Lynch for the latter’s movie “Blue Velvet.” And while these are not the original hits, the musicianship and production values on IN DREAMS should appeal to Orbison fans and newcomers alike.

Recorded at Record One, Sherman Oaks, California.

IN DREAMS: GREATEST HITS features 1985 re-recordings of Orbison’s hits.

Personnel: Roy Orbison (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Sid Page (strings); Tommy Morgan (harmonica); David Woodford (saxophone); Dennis Belfield (bass); Paul Leim (drums); Robert Irving (synthesizer programming); Carol Parks, Jim Haas, Gene Morford, Jon Joyce, Joe Chemay, Linda Dillard (background vocals).

Producers: Michael Utley, Roy Orbison, T-Bone Burnett, David Lynch.

Personnel: Roy Orbison (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Sid Page (strings); Tommy Morgan (harmonica); David Woodford (saxophone); Michael Utley (keyboards); Paul Leim (drums); Jon Joyce , Jim Haas, Carole Parks, Linda Dillard, Gene Morford, Rita Coolidge, Joe Chemay (background vocals).

Audio Mixer: Richard Bosworth.

Liner Note Author: Bruce Springsteen.

Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (??/1985-04/1987); Record One, Sherman Oaks, CA (??/1985-04/1987).

Photographers: James Schnepf; Glen Erler.

Arranger: Michael Utley.

Q (p.111) – 4 stars out of 5 — “Orbison condensed Greek tragedy into succinct pop operas….Magnificent.”

Get album

Comments are closed.